

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://iwra.info/

The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

January 18, 2012

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Our 32nd Annual IWRA Symposium, "*The Wabash River Watershed: Assessment, Management, and the Future*," was a resounding success! Attendees were treated to more than 30 presentations on topics as diverse as strategies for protecting and restoring the Wabash, the influence of bush honeysuckle on aquatic ecosystems, hydraulic fracturing for oil and gas, the Indianapolis CSO tunnel project, and the truly impressive Ball State geothermal project. **John Craddock**, retired director of the Muncie Bureau of Water Quality, received IWRA's Charles Harold Bechert Award in recognition of his lifetime of studying, protecting, and improving the White River. IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards also were presented. **Ron Turco** received the academic sector award for his leadership of the Indiana Water Resources Research Center. **Jill Hoffman**, Upper White River Watershed Alliance, and **Lyn Crighton**, Tippecanoe Watershed Foundation, and the **IUPUI Center for Earth and Environmental Science** received the private sector award for their leadership of the Clear Choices Clean Water Campaign. The **Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Division of Water**, received the public sector award for 25 years of operating the Indiana State Fair Flood Model. Congratulations to all our award winners and especially to IWRA past president **Mark Pyron** for planning this very enjoyable and educational symposium.

This year the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund financially supported 11 student presentations and 4 undergraduate student-reporter positions. The outstanding student presentation was given by Sarah Rutkowski, Purdue University, and the Scholarship Fund supported her travel to present at the national AWRA conference in Albuquerque. We thank the following individuals who contributed to the scholarship fund in 2011: Les Arihood, Bob Armstrong, Kristen Arnold, Jody Arthur, Konrad Banaszak, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, Melody Bernot, Thomas Berquist, Sarah Brichford, Thomas Bruns, Christopher Burke, Martha Clark Mettler, Jacques Delleur, Kathleen Fowler, Jane Frankenberger, Val Frazee, Jeff Frey, Bill Giles, Bob Gillespie, Raj Gosine, Leighanne Hahn, Rosemarie Hansell, Jeff Healy, Eric Holm, Paul Johnson, Joe Ketterman, Sally Letsinger, James Luckiewicz, Jeff Martin, Sherry Mitchell-Bruker, Scott Morlock, Greg Nethery, Klaus Neumann, John Noel, Hunter Pinnell, Glenn Pratt, Linda Prokopy, Mark Pyron, Mark Reshkin, Chris Ritz, Paul Ruegamer, Pradnya Sawant, Joe Schmees, Michael Sears, Cheryl Silcox, Cindy Spoljaric, James Stewart, Jon Stolz, Harold Templin, Larry Theller, Jerry Unterreiner, David Wagner, Bob Waltz, Phil Ward, Kathryn Watson, John Wilson, Pam Wolsiefer-Leak, and Lorraine Wright.

Officers were elected at a brief business meeting in November. 2012 IWRA Officers are: President: Mark Hopkins, U.S. Geological Survey, mhopkins@usgs.gov

President-Elect: Phil Bonneau, Ortman Drilling & Water Services,

pbonneau@ortmandrilling.com

Secretary: Joseph Schmees, IN Department of Environmental Management,

JSchmees@idem.IN.gov

Treasurer: Kathleen Fowler, U.S. Geological Survey, kkfowler@usgs.gov

The 33rd Annual IWRA Spring Symposium will be held June 13-15, 2012, at the Spring Mill State Park Inn in Mitchell, Indiana. The theme of this year's symposium is "Exploring the Lost River: Indiana's Unique Water Resource." The Wednesday session will consist of talks preparing us for the Thursday field trip led by Dick Powell, Indiana Geological Survey, when we will visit many fascinating features including Wesley Chapel Gulf and the Orangeville Rise. Friday will feature a boat tour of Blue Spring Caverns. Please contact me if you have ideas for presentations or site visits related to the Lost River or to other water-resource issues or items of interest in the area.

IWRA is soliciting nominations for the **Charles Harold Bechert Award** and the **Outstanding Achievement Awards** for 2012. We will present these awards to individuals who have contributed significantly to any of the goals of IWRA including:

- Promoting research and technical, social, economic, and legislative advances in all aspects of water resources;
- Collecting and disseminating of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media;
- Relating the needs of management, educational, and governmental institutions for specialized services and guidance to qualified professionals; or
- Initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Please take this opportunity to recognize outstanding water-resource achievements in the public, private, and academic communities. **Send your nominations for IWRA awards to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee**, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is Wednesday, April 18, 2012.

IWRA comprises a diverse community of water-resource professionals. Please recommend IWRA to a colleague. We have a growing membership and welcome the following new members: Sandy Clark-Kolaks, Melissa Fear, Eric Holm, Brian Lepore, Erin Looper, Charles Mitch, Klaus Neumann, Sarah Rutkowski, Pradnya Sawant, Lora Smith, The Nature Conservancy, Bob Waltz, Andrew White, and Robert Winebrinner.

I encourage you to renew your IWRA membership by completing the enclosed membership form for 2012. Please continue to give generously to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund. Thank you for supporting IWRA.

If you have ideas for or questions about the upcoming spring meeting, please email me at mhopkins@usgs.gov. I am looking forward to an informative and fun 2012 Spring Symposium.

Sincerely,

Mark Hopkins IWRA President 2012